The Sjöberg prize


The Sjöberg prize


The Statutes, § 7, shows that The Sjöberg Foundation each year will distribute the Sjöberg Prize:


"The Foundation will also award an annual scholarship, "The Sjöberg Prize", to a prominent scientist or group of scientists in Sweden or any other country. The scholarship will amount to the equivalent of 1 million US dollars in today's value of money. The prize will to 1/10 concern encouragement and be used freely by the receiver, and the remaining 9/10 will be used for future research in cancer. "


The commission to appoint laureates and administer price work, the foundation has transferred to the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.






The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award The Sjöberg Prize 2017 to Professor James P. Allison, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX and Professor Tony Hunter, Salk Institute for Biological Studies, La Jolla, CA, USA "for pioneering studies of cellular processes which led to the development of new effective cancer drugs." Further information is provided by The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences' website: The Sjöberg Prize.


Photo: Per Brydolf


Copyright @ All Rights Reserved